

Academic Advisory Commission of Lower Saxony

(german original name: Wissenschaftliche Kommission Niedersachsen, WKN)

The Academic Advisory Commission of Lower Saxony is an independent body of experts that advises the state government and the academic institutions of Lower Saxony in matters of science policy and research. The goal of the Commission is to strengthen the competitiveness of science and research in Lower Saxony in the national and international context. The Commission was established as a permanent institution in October 1997. The Commission acts independently of the Ministry of Science and Culture of Lower Saxony (MWK) and the state's research institutions. As a principle, the consultations and quality assurance procedures are science-based.

ACTIVITIES

- Consulting on science policy issues
- Research evaluations
- Selection procedures & proposal assessments
- Advising institutions beyond Lower Saxony

TYPES OF PUBLICATIONS

- Science policy reports
- Evaluation reports
- Conceptual papers
- Activity reports

Further permanent organizational structures exist to ensure that the Commission can fulfil its intended advisory role. The coordination group is comprised of representatives of the Commission, the University Rectors' Conference of Lower Saxony (LHK), the MWK, and the ZEvA (Central Evaluation and Accreditation Agency). The group aligns consulting needs with the capacity and interests of the Commission. Evaluation committees and working groups are tem-

porary bodies that are recruited for specific tasks. The plenum of the Commission meets twice a year in the presence of the head of the MWK (Minister, Secretary of State), other representatives of the Ministry and the State Chancellery of Lower Saxony. The plenary sessions provide the framework for the discussion and adoption of the results and recommendations developed by the Commission and its temporary bodies.

THE ACADEMIC ADVISORY COMMISSION: ORGANIZATIONAL BASIC STRUCTURE

The Commission itself: chairperson – up to 12 voting members – up to 6 advisory members In addition: coordination group – office Temporary bodies: evaluation committees – working groups

The office of the Commission is located in Hanover and is affiliated with the MWK. It supports the work of the Commission, the coordination group and the expert committees in terms of organization and content. Its tasks include quality assessment, concept development as well as mediation and transfer. The office is headed by the Secretary General, Dr. Mathias Pätzold, and currently consists of eight employees.

Please find out more on our (German-language) website: <u>www.wk.niedersachsen.de</u>

